SVSEF FIS Athletes Heading to 2024 U18 Nationals

SVSEF qualifies more athletes than any other club in Western Region

The official boards for the U18 National Championships have been posted, and the SVSEF FIS Team will send 15 athletes to represent the Western Region in Jackson Hole, WY, March 2-8. Athletes must qualify to compete at U18 Nationals and each region (Western, Rocky-Central, and Eastern) has 20 quota spots for men and for women. In addition, the US Ski Team may utilize 10 development picks for athletes that didn’t qualify through criteria.

The Western Region includes the Pacific Northwest, Northern, Intermountain, Far West, and Alaska Divisions; or Alaska, Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana, California, Nevada, Utah, and western Wyoming.

“I am proud of our entire FIS program: athletes, coaches, teachers, parents, and supporters for focusing on the process of each individual throughout this season,” said Will Brandenburg, SVSEF Alpine Program Director. “The level of commitment it takes to travel, race, and accomplish this qualification while in high school truly requires a village of people who ‘get it.’ They fully support these student-athletes’ goals both on the hill and in the classroom. We knew this group had a ton of depth, and having this many athletes qualify for an event of this level says something about both the athletes and the community that supports them”.

The U18 National Championships technical events will be held at Snow King Mountain on March 2-3 and speed events will be held at Jackson Hole Mountain Resort on March 4-8.

SVSEF Women qualified for U18 National Championships

  • Autumn Carpenter (Speed Events)
  • Avryl Haas
  • Josie Sarchett
  • Lowie Watkins
  • Madison Vieara McCarthy (Speed Events)
  • Meredith Bromley
  • Natalie Gowe
  • Ruby Crist
  • Sophia Hallstein

SVSEF Men qualified for U18 National Championships

  • Larson Overby
  • Max Meucci
  • Noah Horsch
  • Owen Lancaster
  • Sasha Stern-Pre
  • Tucker Smith

Photo L-R from SVSEF Women’s FIS Team: Coach Anika Angriman, Natalie Gowe, Autumn Carpenter, Sophia Hallstein, Ava Schweiger, Sasha McCourtie, Madison Vieara-McCarthy, Ava Murphy, Pat Savaria, and front, Avryl Haas.