27th Annual Monroe Cup Honors Legendary Coach Lane Monroe

SVSEF’s Savannah Pringle and JHSC’s Zachary Lighthart Take the Win at 2024 Monroe Cup

The Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation hosted the annual Monroe Cup alpine ski race at Rotarun Ski Area Feb. 24-25. Named after ski racing coach and legend Lane Monroe, the Monroe Cup brings nearly 200 U10, U12, and a handful of U14 athletes from across the region to compete in this Intermountain Division (IMD) Qualifier event for the IMD Championships.

“Simply put it was an amazing celebration of kids and ski racing,” said Chuck Harris, SVSEF Junior Alpine Program Director and Chief of Race for the Monroe Cup. “The sun was out, and the snow was perfect. The tailgate scene by the parents was over the top. The smile on the athletes’ faces ruled the weekend.”

“We were honored to have Lane Monroe show up on Sunday—he got to watch the kids race and he was part of the awards ceremony, which was really special,” said Harris.  

Monroe was the Program Director and Head Alpine Coach at SVSEF from 1970-1996, with a hiatus between 1973 and 1976 to serve as a U.S. Ski Team coach. From 1973-1974 Monroe was the Men’s Special Teams coach and then the Head Women’s Coach from 1975-1976. The Monroe Cup was first held in 1997 on Bald Mountain, and continued there until 2021 when it moved to Rotarun Ski Area to continue as a slalom-only event. This was the fourth year the event has been held at Rotarun.

Three of Monroe’s former athletes currently coach for SVSEF’s Alpine program and were on-hand at the races this weekend. Pat Savaria grew up racing through the Sun Valley Ski Team and eventually took the reins as SVSEF Alpine Program Director when Monroe handed them over. He went on to coach for the U.S. Ski Team and currently coaches with the SVSEF Alpine Women’s FIS Team. 

“Lane Monroe, along with Jack Simpson, my dad Jim Savaria, and Michel Rudigoz, were really the forefathers of SVSEF,” said Pat Savaria. “As a coach we knew we were skiing well if Lane talked to us that week—we could feel his enthusiasm, and if he didn’t, we better be working harder. He also brought his real estate and business savvy to the vision for SVSEF, helping ultimately establish the SVSEF training center through his work in the 1980’s and 90’s. 

SVSEF Alpine U12 Travel Team coaches Adele Savaria and Skip Merrick were also coached by Monroe. “Lane was an extremely motivating coach,” said Adele Savaria. “He definitely got you fired up to do your best.” 

Skip Merrick echoed Adele’s sentiments adding, “When you were at your low points as an athlete under Coach Monroe, he would drag you out of the depths and make you feel like you were the best skier in the world.” Both Adele Savaria and Skip Merrick went on to compete for the U.S. Ski Team.

The 2024 Monroe Cup featured two slalom races (four runs) on Saturday for the girls, and the same for boys on Sunday. The SVSEF Alpine U10 & U12 Travel Teams competed in the event, and athletes in the North Series of the Intermountain Division traveled from McCall Winter Sports Club (MWC), Jackson Hole Ski Club (JHSC), Bogus Basin Ski Education Foundation (BBSEF), Grand Targhee Ski and Snowboard Foundation (GTSSF), and Alyeska Ski Club (ASC) to make for a strong field of competition.

At the conclusion of both races on Saturday, SVSEF’s Savannah Pringle was awarded the Monroe Cup for her first and second overall place finishes; and Zachary Lighthart from Jackson Hole Ski Club (JHSC) won the Monroe Cup on Sunday having won both races for the boys. Awards were presented to the top five finishers for each race in the U10, U12, and U14 age categories.

“I can’t thank Rotarun enough for all of their hard work to make this successful weekend happen,” said Harris. “I am always impressed with their attention to detail and we are all grateful to have such a special place here in our backyard.”

For complete overall and class race results, please visit the links below:

Women Race #1 Overall
Women Race #1 By Class
Women Race #2 Overall
Women Race #2 By Class

Men Race #1 Overall
Men Race #1 By Class
Men Race #2 Overall
Men Race #2 By Class

Top 10 SVSEF Class Results

Women – SL Saturday, February 24 

Race #1 U10 Women

2 – Alta Questad

3 – Dylan Spengler

4 – Sophie Robins

5 – Kayla Kloster

7 – Amelia Beck

8 – Marie McNeal

9 – Tea Smither

10 – Chandler Letson

Race #1 U12 Women

1 – Savannah Pringle

5 – Jennings Fraser

Race #2 U10 Women
2 – Alta Questad

4 – Dylan Spengler

5 – Marie McNeal

6 – Amelia Beck

8 – Tea Smither

Race #2 U12 Women

2 – Savannah Pringle

6 – Jennings Fraser

9 – Ava Gilmour

Men – SL Sunday, February 25

Race #1 U10 Men 

2 – Walker Gove
4 – Logan Steel
6 – Asa Sattler
7 – Evan McGregor
8 – Dylan Smiley

Race #1 U12 Men

2 – Theron Andra
6 – James Holman
8 – Brixen Ehleringer
10 – Eli Sattler

Race #2 U10 Men

2 – Walker Gove
4 – Asa Sattler
6 – Evan McGregor
7 – Dylan Smiley

Race #2 U12 Men

2 – Charlie Spengler
5 – Theron Andra
6 – James Holman