G4G: Solly Gee! No Weekes effort. Carter and Company Tryder hardest

The Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation staged its second annual Golf for Gold tournament Tuesday at Bigwood Golf Course. The nine-hole tournament is a resurrection of the John Harker Memorial Golf Tournament run by the SVSEF from 1981 to 1993. Two flights were staged – morning and afternoon – with a total of 23 teams taking part in the event sponsored by Washington Federal.
This year, the Harker perpetual trophy was awarded to the foursome of Tim Carter, Jack Weekes, Josh Solly and Billy Tryder, who thanks to Solly’s towering drives, combined for a winning nine-under 27. The quartet finished one shot ahead of Dave Hennessy, Neil Bradshaw, Duncan Morton and Kurt Funkhouser. Due to a misplaced scorecard, the second-place foursome was not announced until three days after the tournament and well after prizes were distributed.
A card-off was utilized to determine third place (second place at the awards party), which went to birthday boy Phil McNichol, wife SJ McNichol, Hunter Storey and Gabe Schroder with a 29. Also carding 29 were Jill Brennan, Jim McElveen, Olin Glenne, and Robin Sarchett.
Grand prizes of 18-hole rounds of golf for four were donated by The Valley Club, Sun Valley Company and Bigwood Golf Course. No one was able to cash in on hole-in-one prizes of a Polaris snowmobile or ATV provided by Woodside Motor Sports in Hailey.
Earning $100 gift certificates to the Pioneer Saloon for Longest Drive was SJ McNichol on the ninth green and Neil Bradshaw on the third. Calloway putters were awarded to Jolie Dunn (#6) and Tim Carter (#5) for Closest to the Pin.
SVSEF alumna and Olympic Gold and Silver medalist Picabo Street participated in the tournament helping teammates Rob McGowan, Alex LaFleur, and David Holmes card a 33. She also addressed the crowd at the awards banquet.
“It is vitally important we support our SVSEF Gold athletes and their quest to be the best in the world. At one time I was that athlete and I could not have gotten where I did without the SVSEF and my hometown. The SVSEF made me the person I am today,” Street said.

Picabo Street with the Harker Trophy

SVSEF’s 2015-16 Gold Program is comprised of U.S. Ski and Snowboard Team athletes Chase Josey (snowboard), Tai Barrymore and Jacob Beebe (freeski), Kipling Weisel and Tanner Josey (alpine) as well as Nordic skiers Mary Rose, Deedra Irwin, Paige Schember, Matt Gelso, Miles Havlick, Ben Lustgarten and Rogan Brown. The program was formed by the SVSEF in 2005 as a way to support our elite athletes who had risen to the top and were ready to compete on an international level. One former SVSEF Gold Team member is 2014 Olympic halfpipe champion Kaitlyn Farrington.
Hank Minor and the crew at Bigwood Grill staged a fabulous buffet dinner on the deck where a proverbial good time was had by all. Doug Kaiser was the grand prize raffle winner of a half-day skiing with Picabo Street.
The Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation would like to thank everyone who participated, donated, volunteered and worked toward making this event a success, especially Washington Federal, Hank Minor and Bigwood Grill, Woodside Motorsports, Swire Coca Cola, Rocky Mountain Hardware, Pioneer Saloon, Sun Valley Company, The Valley Club, Bigwood Golf Course, Kelley Sinnott and the SVSEF Nordic Gold Team. We are indebted to you one and all and hope to see you again next year.
2015 Golf for Gold Tournament
1st place – 27: Tim Carter, Josh Solly, Jack Weekes, Billy Tryder
2nd place – 28: Dave Hennessy, Neil Bradshaw, Duncan Morton, Kurt Funkhouser
3rd place – 29: SJ McNichol, Phil McNichol, Gabe Schroder, Hunter Storey
4th place – 29: Jill Brennan, Jim McElveen, Olin Glenne, Robin Sarchett
5th place – 29: Lane Monroe, Pat Bauman, Chris Mazzola, Kirk Anderson
30: Bill Mason, JB Barlow, Shawn Aicher, Steve Meyers
31: Zach Crist, Rich Fabiano, Baird Gourlay, Carmen Bradley
32: Sheila Naghsh, Chris Zarkos, Milt Smalls, Ron Miller
32: John Perenchio, Ben Pettit, Luis Sanchez, Will Brandenburg
32: Hank Minor, Aaron Thompson, Gardiner Young, Wyatt Minor
32: Eric Madsen, Per Lindfors, Bryan Jorgensen, John Iasonides
32: Kyle Rafford, Barrett Molter, Dave Swenke, Agung Prabowo
33: Picabo Street, Rob McGowan, Alex LaFleur, David Holmes
33: Julie Daniels-West, Janet Appleton, Tom West, Glen Thomas
34: Linda Hadam, Tom Van Hemelryck, Stuart Siderman, Jeff Harris
34: Brick Blackburn, Tyler Ferris, John Blackburn, Jake Blackburn
34: Val Gillespie, Roger Roland, DJ Hart, Byron Karrys
35: Sam Adicoff, Ron Parsons, Bruce Martin, Jim Taft
35: Scott McGrew, Andy Ware, Nate Schwing, Brett Jacobson
36: Diana Hoover, Pat Gentry, Jolie Dunn, Spooky Taft
36: Chase Josey, Andy Gilbert, Mike Fitzpatrick, Jon Verhaeghe
35: John Shay, Orlie Sather, Burr Sproatt, Brian Caulkins
37: Michael Halstead, Paul Carson, John Broschofsky, Nick Maricich