Accolades Abound for SVSEF Athletes


Freeskiers invited to Project Gold Camp

Six SVSEF athletes have been invited to the 2016 Project Gold Camp, which runs May 1-8 at Mammoth Mountain. Participants will have access to a phenomenal coaching staff, a 22-foot pipe cut off with air bags, two to three jumps, and assorted rails. Athletes were chosen based on performances at the Revolution Tour, USASA Nationals and Junior Nationals ­ – others were selected based on discretion.
The SVSEF athletes who have been invited to attend are Alvaro Jiraldo, Hanna Blackwell, Jed Waters, Ridge Dirksmeier, Harper Mallett, and SVSEF Gold Team and U.S. Rookie Halfpipe Team Member Jacob Beebe.

Alvaro Whistler

Alvaro Jiraldo is one of six SVSEF athletes invited to attend the 2016 Project Gold Camp

Program Director Andy Ware noted, “This is the most athletes ever invited from our team. Our athletes and their coaches have had an outstanding season together and to receive this type of recognition from the ‘higher ups’ of the U.S. Freeskiing Team speaks to the level of effort they have given this season.”

FIS Team finishes season at Mt. Bachelor

The FIS Alpine team spent the past week at Mt. Bachelor, Oregon, for their final races of the season. Athletes competed in two super G events, followed by one downhill event. A second downhill race scheduled for April 18 was cancelled.
On April 13, the first day of racing, Yuri McClure finished 12th in the men’s super G. Spencer Wright was 25th and Will Snyder was 29th. John Blackburn finished 36th, Hayden Terjeson 40th, Noah Leininger 49th and Wyatt Smith 50th. In the women’s event, Haley Cutler was a big contender, ending up in second place behind Kathryn Parker, an Australian racer. Erin Smith narrowly missed the podium, landing in fourth place. Skylar Cooley was eighth and Ruby Marden 17th.
Another super G event followed on April 15. Will Snyder finished fifth, Griffin Curtis 13th and John Blackburn 28th. Hayden Terjeson was 31st, Spencer Wright was 42nd, Noah Leininger 48th, Charlie Lamb tied for 50th, and Wyatt Smith was 60th. Haley Cutler again finished second in the women’s event. Skylar Cooley was fifth, Ruby Marden eighth, Erin Smith 11th and Sage Rheinschild 26th.
In the men’s downhill on April 17, the top SVSEF men’s skiers were Will Snyder and Spencer Wright, who were 24th and 26th, respectively. Hayden Terjeson finished 33rd, Griffin Curtis 41st, John Blackburn 44th, Noah Leininger 53rd and Charlie Lamb 54th. Haley Cutler bested her previous second place finishes, clinching first place in the women’s downhill event. Erin Smith was sixth, Ruby Marden 10th and Sage Rheinschild 11th.
Full results:

End-of-season awards celebrate SVSEF athletes



Devo team
Love of Snowboarding: Callie Allen
Superstar teammate: Sophie Smith, Cash Landrum- Duval, Slader Landrum-Duval, Kiki Pate
Progression Beta/Alpha Team
Most Improved: Caleb and Madison Hothem
Most Inspirational: Zoe Bacca
Travel Beta/Alpha Team
Standout season: Payton Bacca, Aidan Green
Most Improved: Landon Moore
Most Inspirational: Phebe Ericksen

Freestyle and Freeskiing:

The freestyle and freeskiing “standout season” awards are given to the athletes who have made the most of every training session, understanding that their ability to improve depends on their attitude, their willingness, their focus and their effort.
Freestyle Comp Home Team: Erik Babcock, Samantha Smith
Freeskiing Comp Home Team: Charlie Price
Freeskiing Travel Teams: Ridge Dirksmeier, Jed Waters, Hanna Blackwell
Freestyle Travel Teams: Luke Rizzo, Esmee Verhiejen
Most Inspirational: Luke Rizzo
Ron Von Hagen- Defining Success Award: Luke Rizzo & Hanna Blackwell


Prep Team
Outstanding skier: Cash Dart, Logan Smith
Most improved: Jackson Bevers, Kate Horowitz
Coaches’ award: Sebi Radl-Jones, Anja Jensen
Most inspirational: Aidan Birchmore, Logan Smith
Comp Team
Most Improved: Henry Raff, Emily Siegel
Rookie of the Year: Johnny Hagenbuch, Sophia Mazzoni
Outstanding Skier: Peter Wolter, Annika Landis
Coaches’ award: Loni Unser
Most Inspirational (voted on by teammates): Annika Landis, Peter Wolter
Engl Award: Annika Landis, Eli Jensen
Torin Norton Tucker Scholarship: Keene Morawitz
Longevity Award (given to skiers who started on Devo Team and progress all the way through the program, presented by Doran Key): Jay Fitzgerald, Kristian DeWolfe, Griffin Curtis, Will Snyder
Longevity Award for the Hailey Ski Team (presented by former Hailey Ski Team coach Nate Schwing): Yuri McClure
Coaches’ Award
FIS: Hayden Terjeson, Skylar Cooley
USSA: Max Noddings, Grace Pepin
IMD: Ethan Marx, Sage Curtis
Most Improved
FIS: John Blackburn, Katelyn Rathfon
USSA: Carter Jendrezak, Kaia Jensen
IMD: Will Penrose, Julia Ott
Most Inspirational
FIS: Yuri McClure, Skylar Cooley
USSA: Lukas DeWolfe, Nikki Sabiers
IMD: Ryder Sarchett, Anwhei Kirk
Engl Award
FIS: Will Snyder, Erin Smith
IMD: Ryder Sarchett, Falon Hanna
Odmark Award
FIS: Yuri McClure, Ruby Marden
IMD: Charlie Snyder, Lola Street
Mountain Kidd Award (given to an athlete who embraces and epitomizes the mountain culture and lifestyle): Kristian DeWolfe
Howard Dean Scholarship (covers next year’s tuition, presented by Peggy Dean): Sage Holter