SVSEF Alpine Skier Hayden Terjeson wins Berlack/Astle Award

SVSEF’s Hayden Terjeson was recently honored with the Berlack/Astle Memorial Fast Skier Award for his accomplishments during the 2015-16 alpine season.
The Berlack/Astle memorial scholarship is given by World Cup Supply to deserving U16 alpine athletes in honor of Ronnie Berlack and Bryce Astle, two members of the U.S. Ski Team who died in an avalanche in Austria on January 5, 2015. The Fast Skier Award has been given for seven years, but this is the first year in honor of the young men.
“The avalanche not only claimed the lives of two extremely talented and promising young ski racers, but cut short the lives of two young men who possessed the best of all the qualities necessary to be successful while living life to the fullest,” according to the World Cup Supply website.
“However, their success was ultimately a product of who they were and not just what they could do on skis. Both of these young men truly represent all we had in mind when we created the award seven years ago. Therefore it is only fitting that we acknowledge and remember Ronnie and Bryce by dedicating the award to their legacy. We can’t think of two better role models for future applicants to aspire to.”
“It was a huge honor to win this award,” Hayden said. “I felt very humbled.”

Hayden Terjeson takes a gate in the Laura Flood Memorial in Sun Valley. Photo by Oliver Guy.

Hayden, a member of the SVSEF FIS Alpine Team and junior at Community School, worked very hard on his application which featured a personal cover letter, letter of reference, report on academic standing and community involvement, race results and a video.
The award is intended to provide assistance to athletes who exhibit the personal characteristics required for success both on and off the hill. The awards help recognize the critical role academics, community involvement, leadership, and family play in an athlete’s ultimate success in sport and life.
“It is a tremendous honor for Hayden – just amazing,” said his mother, Jenny Terjeson.