SVSEF’s Gladys Weidt Awarded Intermountain Division Coach of the Year

Back-to-back IMD Coach of the Year awards for the Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation

At the 2023/24 Intermountain Division (IMD) Annual Meeting Awards Banquet on Wednesday, SVSEF’s Assistant Alpine Director and Assistant Coach of the Alpine U16 Team, Gladys Weidt, was awarded IMD Nick Lewis Coach of the Year. The award is voted on annually by the IMD Alpine Competition Committee and the directors of all clubs in the division. This is the second consecutive year SVSEF has received the prestigious award, with U14 Travel Team Head Coach Charlotte Gourlay being named IMD Coach of the Year in 2023.

“It is such an honor to receive the Nick Lewis IMD Coach of the Year Award, especially being in such great company with the past recipients,” said Gladys Weidt, SVSEF Assistant Alpine Director and Assistant U16 Team Coach. “To receive this award makes me incredibly grateful for all of the support I have received from the community to do what I love!”

“Over the last few seasons, Gladys has played a pivotal role in elevating the Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation’s Alpine Program,” said Will Brandenburg, SVSEF Alpine Program Director. “Her leadership in managing both our FIS and U16 programs has been instrumental in fostering the athletic achievements of our athletes, including the significant accomplishment of six athletes being named to the U.S. Ski Team.”

Under Weidt’s guidance, Ryder Sarchett clinched a World Junior gold medal and Haley Cutler secured a spot in the World Cup downhill races for the upcoming 2024/25 season. This past season, she made the selfless decision to step down as the FIS Team head coach to maximize her impact by taking on the role of Assistant Alpine Director and Assistant U16 Coach. 

“Gladys’s unique perspective and dedication to the club were evident as she chose to utilize her skills where they would be most effective, rather than seeking higher titles,” said Brandenburg. “This shift has had a profound effect on our program, notably contributing to our U16 male and female athletes (Tucker Reimund and Taylor Moe) winning the 2024 IMD overall titles.”

While SVSEF’s Head U16 Coach Nate Schwing plays a crucial role in the athletes’ development, Gladys’s approach to engaging with the athletes complements and enhances his efforts. 

“Gladys’s commitment extends beyond coaching to fostering mental and physical wellness among our athletes,” said Brandenburg. “She has spearheaded initiatives to expand our understanding and implementation of wellness practices within our organization, and her values and dedication to personal development through sports have profoundly influenced not only the athletes she coaches but also our broader community. Her contributions are invaluable, and she embodies the spirit and excellence that the Nick Lewis Intermountain Coach of the Year Award seeks to recognize.”

SVSEF recipients of the annual IMD awards across the last decade include:

  • 2023-24 Coach of the Year – Gladys Weidt
  • 2022-23 Coach of the Year – Charlotte Gourlay
  • 2022-23 Volunteer of the Year – Sean O’Connor
  • 2022-23 Steve Bounous Excellence in Skiing Award (Men) – Finnigan Donley
  • 2021-22 Official of the Year – Riley Berman
  • 2020-21 Steve Bounous Excellence in Skiing Award (Men) – Ryder Sarchett
  • 2017-18 Official of the Year – Scott McGrew
  • 2016-17 Bryce Astle Intermountain Cup Award (Men) – Jack Smith
  • 2016-17 Bryce Astle Intermountain Cup Award (Women) – Lily Fitzgerald
  • 2016-17 Coach of the Year – Nate Schwing
  • 2016-17 Volunteer of the Year – Heather Flood Daves
  • 2015-16 Bryce Astle Intermountain Cup Award (Women) – Lily Fitzgerald
  • 2014-15 IMD Scholar Award – Stockton Troyer
  • 2012-13 Intermountain Cup Award (Women) – Kyla Miller