2016-2017 End of Season Awards

Thanks to everyone, from athletes to parents, from coaches to sponsors to community members, who supported SVSEF throughout the season and helped make it an exceptional one. We’re proud of all of our athletes’ efforts, and are constantly impressed by how hardworking and inspiring they are.

With banquets this April came season-end awards; here are this year’s recipients. Congratulations to all SVSEF athletes on a great year!


A Team

Male Athlete of the Year: Luke Rizzo

Female Athlete of the Year: Eliza Marks

MVP: Holden Largay

Most Inspirational (voted on by the athletes): Luke Rizzo

Most Improved: Mikel Sanchez-duPont

Dark Horse: Toby Rafford

John R. Kalik True North Scholarship: Rainey Wilson

Volunteer / Community Service: Wilson Dunn, Brody Buchwalter, Hunter Diehl, Axel Diehl, Esmee Verheijen, Rainey Wilson

B Team

Most Improved: Paola Alvarado

Most Inspirational: Anton Holter

Most Dedicated (based on attendance): Quincy McGraw


Halfpipe Award (most improvement in halfpipe): Harper Mallet

World Traveler Award: Hanna Blackwell

Style Award: most improved in style and flow in his overall skiing – Joey Markthaler

Big Air Award: Will Griffith

MVP: Ridge Dirksmeier


Stand Out/MVP Girl: Zoe Bacca

Stand Out/MVP Boy: Jack Verheaghe

Dark Horse: Caleb Hothem

Most Improved: Emma Schmillen

Travel Team

Stand Out/MVP:  Payton Bacca

People’s Champ Award: Phebe Ericksen


Howard Dean Scholarship: Sky Leininger

Mountain Kidd: Cooper Dart

Life Coach Award: Galen Webster

John R. Kalik True North Scholarship: Kaia Jensen

SVSEF Alpine Longevity Award: Katelyn Rathfon, Noah Leininger, Lukas DeWolfe

Peggy & Sigi Engl Award Alpine Women: Katelyn Rathfon

Peggy & Sigi Engl Awards Alpine Men: Hayden Terjeson

Leif Odmark, FIS Women: Kaia Jensen

Leif Odmark, FIS Men: Max Noddings

Gary Black Jr. Memorial Race

Billy Klein Award – U12 Boy: Tor Johnston

Bonnie Russel Trophy – U14 Girl: Jessica Blackburn

Christin Cooper Award – U16 Girl: Cailin Chandler

Kathleen Harriman Mortimer – U12 Girl: Paige DeHart

Smith Goggle Award – U14 Boy: Ben Goitiandia

Gretchen Fraser Award – U10 Girl: Ella Shaugnessy

Pete Patterson Award – U10 Boy: Quintin Buoncristiani

Roy Hobson Award Women: Jessica Blackburn

Roy Hobson Award Men: Ben Goitiandia

IMD Team

Most Improved Boy: Skye Leininger

Most Improved Girl: Anwhei Kirk

Passion Award Boy: Jett Carruth

Passion Award Girl: Lola Street

Performers Boy: Ryder Sarchett

Performers Girl: Merit Kaiser

Most Inspirational Boy: Skye Leininger

Mini World Cup Team

Coaches Award Boy: Owen Walker

Coaches Award Girl: Audrey Morawitz

Outstanding Skier Boy: Tucker Smith

Outstanding Skier Girl: Taylor Hovey

Most Improved Boy: Quintin Buoncristiani

Most Improved Girl: Eden Gardner

Mini World Cup Women: Taylor Hovey

Mini World Cup Men: Tucker Smith

North Series Team

“Cheeso” Memorial – North Series Perpetual: Tommy Normand

Most Improved Boy: Bodin Lee

Most Improved Girl: Maeve Bailey

Coaches Award Boy: Hank Moss

Coaches Award Girl: Paige DeHart

Most Inspirational Boy: Jesse Keefe

Most Inspirational Girl: Charlotte Davis-Jeffers


Most Improved Boy: Wyatt Barth

Most Improved Girl: Cailin Chandler

Passion Award Boy: Bennet Snyder

Passion Award Girl: Merumo Ishimaru

Most Inspirational Boy: Wyatt Barth

Most Inspirational Girl: Lily Fitzgerald/Carlota Pomes

FIS Team

Most Improved Boy: Charlie Lamb

Most Improved Girl: Erin Smith

Passion Award Boy: Fillipo Collini

Passion Award Girl: Haley Cutler

Most Inspirational Boy: Duncan Fuller

Most Inspirational Girl: Sage Rheinschild

Cross Country

Comp Team

Outstanding Boy and Girl: Johnny Hagenbuch, Sophia Mazzoni

Most Improved Boy and Girl: Landon Paschall, Katherine Estep

Rookie Boy and Girl: Cash Dart, Anja Jensen

Most Inspirational Boy and Girl (voted on by teammates): Peter Wolter, Ella Wolter     

Coaches Award: Henry Raff                                                                     

Engl Award: Peter Wolter, Lily Brunelle

Torin Norton Tucker Scholarship Award: Joe Hall

John R. Kalik True North Scholarship Award: Sophia Mazzoni

Prep Team

Outstanding Boy and Girl: Blake DeHart, Logan Smith

Most Improved Boy and Girl: Alex Shafer, Kelby Whitehead

Coaches Award Boy and Girl: Sebi Radl-Jones, Taylor Dorland

Most Inspirational Boy and Girl (voted on by teammates): Sebi Radl-Jones, Luci Ludwig

Photos courtesy of (L-R): Jennifer Diehl, Glen Allison, Glen Allison, Rick Millet

Positive Coaching Alliance

Contact Us

Newsletter Signup

P.O. Box 203, Sun Valley, ID 83353
215 Picabo Street, #302, Ketchum, ID 83340
(208) 726-4129
(208) 726-3548 (fax)

US Ski & Snowboard Gold Certified Club